Illinois Government Engineer of the Year

Previous Recipients

2006 Cheryl Bievenue, PE* 
2006 Curtis D. Cook, PE 
2007 James Crane, PE 
2008 Kirankumar V. Topudurti, PE 
2009 George M. Hansen, PE 
2010 Gale Jamison, PE 
2011 Shawn Ortgiesen, PE, PTOE 
2012 Anthony Baratta, PE 
2013 Steven Brandau, PE 
2014 J. Jeffery Blue, PE 
2015 Kevin Kothe, PE
*Federal Engineer of the Year Award
This honor is to be awarded to an engineer employed by any state or local government agency that employs engineers.  Candidates are nominated by their employing agency, and if received by ISPE, they may also be considered by the ISPE Honors and Awards Committee for nomination to NSPE for consideration for the NSPE Professional Engineer in Government Achievement and Service in the United States (PEGASUS) Award. ISPE will consider all ISPE member nominees for recognition as the ISPE Illinois Government Engineer of the Year, using the same criteria applicable for the NSPE PEGASUS award.

Criteria/ Method of Selection

The award criteria for the ISPE Illinois Government Engineer of the Year Award will be the same as used for the NSPE PEGASUS Award The criteria can be found on the NSPE website. All nominations must be typed on the original nominating form, found through this link, and submitted to ISPE.

All Illinois state and local government agencies employing engineers are eligible to compete.  Individual agency nominees must be presently engaged in the practice of engineering as employees of the agency in either managerial or technical positions.  Only licensed engineers (PE or EI) who are ISPE members are eligible for nomination as Illinois Government Engineer of the Year.  

Each state and local agency may submit one overall nomination or subordinate agencies may submit nominations individually provided they qualify under the prescribed eligibility.  If subordinate agencies compete individually, all nominations must be processed through the appropriate awards office of the major parent-level agency and the major parent level agency may not enter a separate nomination for the agency.  If the agency wishes to enter a single nominee from among the candidates of the subordinate agencies, the agency is responsible for the selection of its agency nominee.

The ISPE Illinois Government Engineer of the Year Award will be selected by the ISPE Honors and Awards Committee using the criteria below.

Education - 5 points
Registered PE / EI  -  5 points
Continuing Education  -  10 points
Professional / Technical Society Activities  -  10 points
NSPE Membership  -  5 points
Awards or Honors  -  10 points
Civic and Humanitarian Activities  -  15 points